Posted by: Jintoo | April 19, 2010

Ten reasons to stop collecting PVC figures & toys.

Since the beginning of my collection (2007), I had  several blues. I told myself several times I would stop. Once I even told myself I would stop if I found 10 reasons to. I found 10 reasons but I was still collecting… I am really weak. This reasons were:

1 – the custom duties (in France)… it’s rather “classical”. It’s true we should pay the VAT (about 20%)  but the administration costs are too high. Besides, note that the custom officers have specific method to convert currencies and the value is sometimes much expensive than the real rate.  The final price can have+50%. What a shame.

2 – the exchange rate. The Global Financial Crisis completely devalued the  Euro. It makes the prices more expensive. Some other crisis (eg the Greek crisis in February 2010) do not help and I have always the feeling to be in a unfavorable context.

3 – The deliverymen and the local post do not take care about the parcels. That’s a kind of urban legend: do they play soccer with the parcels? Anyway, several times the deliveryman fold my parcel to make it enter in my maibox and the box of the figure was damaged. Baka baka baka !

4 – the differences between the prototype and the final version. Sometimes the painting or the sculpting are not like on the pictures of the prototypes… and they’re not better of course. Then it can be too late: either the parcel has already been sent, or the shop does not cancel orders. Examples:  Shiki Ryougi (Kimono) by GSC for the painting and Canaan by GSC.

5 – the disappointments with the second-hand buying. I bought once a toy that was dirty. I was really pissed off. The real problem is the sellers: some sellers do not describes the defects, some other increases the price or just disappear. They are just perverted collectors imo. Anyway I prefer to pay more and get a new item because of that.

6 – the quoted values. Prices increased for for rare figures (eg Konjiki no Yami and Alice by Alpha x Omega). That is sometimes scaring. As I am concerned I wait for good opportunities: maybe someone who is not focused on earning money? Well anyway I had so many other preorders to pay, and I was not worried with that. Someway that’s the game: one of the pleasures to collect is to see the PVC figures to have a higher price.

7 – the inflation of the release prices. The products are more and more expensive… I understand for some gorgeous PVC figures: the sculpt is sharper so it is harder to produce, etc… but there are some common toys that has the same content and they are more expensive. Example: Odin Seiya Myth Cloth costs 6,000yen while a Gold Saint costs 4,000yen.

8 – lost parcels. I never received some parcels. I thought about several reasons for that because one day someone gave me a parcel that he received in his maibox: the deliveryman gave it to the wrong person. Baka baka baka. Maybe some people just kept them instead of trying to give me them back 😦

9 – no more money. Everybody needs money… and particularly Hikkikomoris. It has been proved in NHK ni Youkoso!

10 – no more space. I know some people throw the boxes and I can’t : it is a part of the figure imo. So I have all my boxes in my room and my bro’s room and we can’t call it a room anymore. The only way is for that was to sell but I am always buying more than I sell.

Lately the 8th reason became “stolen parcels”. The delivery manager brought an empty cardboard with my name and said it was found in a garbage. There are 4 stolen parcels for sure (Registered SAL) and maybe more for the SAL Small Packets. I am really outraged. I don’t know what I did to earn this. I have to write emails, to go at the postoffice, to go at the police station but I feel so blue. The stolen amount is really high and I do not know if I will get any reimbursment.
This story is unfair and makes me wanna be NEET… oh gosh I am already.

My mailbox is not safe anymore. I do know how I can receive parcels right now (EMS is too expensive). Anyway I am not in the mood to collect. I don’t say I will stop: I will limit my orders and will sell. So stay alert.

I wish none of this 10 reasons would be yours but as I am concerned I guess I should go back to my basis: just watching animes, reading mangas and playing video-games.

Responses

  1. lol i really hate import duty. And my country wont allow SAL so i always have to stick with EMS which is costly =__=….

    But i think i will go with PVC figures a bit more before stopping collecting ^__^

  2. Don’t be so categoric. I went to Akihabara in Tokyo, Japan, to buy mine and I’m now blocked in Osaka cause of vulcano’s ashes… It could make an eleventh reason. (everyday in japan costsme 10000yens!)

    For my part I usually buy figures in serious french internet shops, it’s more expensive but risks are more acceptable. But I agree, some points like room, difference with prototype, etc… can be very disappointing.

  3. L’histoire du colis vide, je suis outré. J’espère que ce n’était pas ta Jubei Swimsuit.

    • J’ai l’impression qu’il n’y a que toi qui comprennes ma détresse et pourtant t’es ptêt celui qui parle le moins bien anglais 😛
      Non, je n’ai pas commandé Jubei en swimsuit.
      Tiens, tu veux te marrer?
      Samedi au téléphone service colissimo: “Allez au bureau de poste pour faire une réclamation.”
      Aujourd’hui au bureau de Poste: “il faut téléphoner pour faire une réclamation.”

      J’en était sûr !!! T.T

      • Il faut dire que tu n’en es pas à ton premier soucis. Donc, je comprends tout à fait le sentiment de “dégout” qui peut t’animer en ce moment.
        Mais bon, je dois t’avouer que je suis encore sous le choque du “colis vide trouvé dans la poubelle”. Et franchement, ça me fout en rogne pour toi.
        Si ce n’est pas un vol pur et simple, je ne vois vraiment pas ce que c’est. C’est révoltant.
        Quand à la réclamation, c’est assez mal partie : http://www.laposte.fr/layout/set/popup_footer/content/view/full/1007 . Si ça peut t’aider. 😦
        En tout cas, j’espère sincèrement que tout s’arrangera. Mais d’ici là, tu devrais arrêter les envois en SAL normal. 😕

  4. The reasons you are listing are quite convincing to stop this hobby but in the end Im unreasonable and still continue 😀

    You might add
    “Girls will leave your room screaming” as 11th Reason 😄

    I cant believe that someone steals your parcels.Thats unbelievable! Luckily I never had such bad fortune up until know.

    I am trying to cut down on figure purchases aswell because of the weak Euro but in the end in fail miserably

  5. Its so natural to be blue with the visits to the police…it’s a reason to stop. And a huge ones sadly.
    I had 2 packaged lost, but one finally returned to the seller, who sent me again the figure(post office mistake which didnt send the paper for picking the parcel). The other was from USA and the seller said that “it was completely destroyed”…I still dont believe it.

    The Canaan fiasco is an important thing: if you ask so much money for a figure…be consequent. I believe she doesnt worth the 8000yen she costs. Another mistake of EvilSmile…again delaying for nothing.

    And about the figure space…if you see you’re run out space, sell the less important ones for bringing your collection new ones. AH! and…FOLD THE BOXES!
    (BTW Jintoo, did you see the comment on staff contact thread? what part of france are you?)

    @climbatize: how is the statement “everyday in Japan costs you 10000yen”?? The hotel?

    • ““Girls will leave your room screaming” as 11th Reason XD” in my case is “Boys will leave my room thinking I’m a lesbian for having so many boobs on my collection”.

      • Actually that sounds kinda hot 😄

    • @Singer Yuna: Yep, 10000yens of hostel, 2000 of food, and every day I’m not at work I’m not paid 😦 I would prefer buy expensive figures XD, my bank account are almost empty…

  6. I’ve never heard of a thief stealing figures before, most people would think that they’re just cheap plastic toys.
    Running out of money/room applies to me. A few months ago I stopped preordering anything bigger than a nendoroid, and now I’m considering stopping buying those too.

    • There are noobs everywhere… little robbers don’t know what to steal… I got unlucky to be their victim.
      One of the solution to go on to buy… is to sell unfortunately.

  7. Quand tu m’avais parlé du vol de colis, comme Chrono j’avais été assez outrée, d’autant que c’est clairement une personne de la Poste, à moins que le colis ait été laissé sans surveillance et blablabla, ce dont je doute personnellement. J’espère que tu arriveras à obtenir gain de cause et remboursement et le plus vite sera le mieux. Tu as contacté AmiAmi ?

    Concernant le reste de l’article, c’est vrai que chaque point est une bonne raison d’arrêter la collection. Personnellement, je ne l’arrête pas, car pour l’instant, je ne m’en sentirai pas capable, mais en tout cas, je réduis considérablement. Je n’ai à l’heure actuelle que 5 pré-commandes jusqu’a Septembre (je pense car l’une est une Gathering donc estimation). Alors qu’il y a quelques mois, ce chiffre aurait surement été multiplié par deux, voir trois en fonction. J’ai diminué les commandes, pour certaines des raisons que tu as nommé.

    – Tout d’abord, parce que les prix des figurines ont augmenté, et quand on se fixe un quotat par mois, ben forcement, il y en a moins en nombre (je repense notamment à BRS qui est à l’image des prix élevés). Je me rappelle que les premières figurines que j’avais acheté (Corticarte de GSC & Al Azif de Max Fact), je les avais payé genre 45 & 50 euros.. En FRANCE ! Même au Japon, on retrouve guère ces prix-là désormais.

    – Ces prix sont d’autant plus élevés qu’avec la crise, le taux de change est mauvais, et nous y perdons je pense facilement entre 10-15 euros (estimation). Shad en parle souvent quand il repense à son voyage au Japon en Août 2008, où avant de partir 1=160/169yens (de mémoire).. Et en ce moment on peine à dépenser les 130..

    – Ensuite, c’est vrai que l’argent et la place se faisant sentir (surtout maintenant que Shad et moi avons combiné la collection car il faut dire qu’il en a beaucoup plus que moi..), je m’efforce de faire des choix.

    – Autre raison, les choix, j’essaie de les faire aussi avec les éditeurs (ce que je ne faisais pas forcement avant). C’est-a-dire que j’essaie de bannir Kotobukiya et d’autres (ou alors je mets de côté et j’attends la sortie pour voir le produit fini) et récemment même GSC (qui il faut l’avouer déconne sérieusement en ce moment). Alors forcement, il reste plus grand monde, à part Max Factory et Alter (pour ma part, car Griffon fait des bons produits mais j’aime pas les socles). Moins d’éditeurs, moins de figurines, forcement.

    – Enfin, c’est vrai que désormais, je ne me sens plus l’âme de payer une figurine les yeux de la tête parce qu’elle est devenue rare. Il y a un an j’ai acheté Alice Pop Wonderland 107 € (je ne regrette pas hein), mais désormais, je sais que je ne ferai pas une telle dépense pour n’importe qui. Genre, j’ai trouvé une Holo de GSC, mais 93€… Ben y a un an, j’aurai peut-être craqué, là, je réfléchis davantage, même si c’est une figurine que j’aime bien.

    Je n’arrêterai donc pas de collectionner, car c’est quelque chose que j’aime énormement (même si un jour peut-être je stopperai tout pour diverses raisons). Néanmoins, en attendant, j’essaie d’être le plus raisonnable possible, et dépenser moins. Après forcement, dépensant moins dans les figurines, je me tourne un peu dans les artbooks, mais là encore, je sélectionne au maximum.

    (Désolée, je voulais écrire en anglais, mais ca aurait été du mauvais anglais alors ^^)

  8. Thanks for your comments (English or French). Glad to see how you react.
    I finally received the empty cardboards that have been resealed by the Post. I also got an attached excuse letter but I still have to make a complain if I want to get any reimbursement 😡

    For each reason, someway I was always finding some tricks not to be bothered. As example, I ask a friend to receive some of my next parcels. But it can’t be a sustainable solution. So at the end, not only a reason could stop me but the global context.

    Lately I received some parcels. So I hope I was temporarily targeted. Anyway I will limit my orders and plan to make some place… for the new Miku Append.
    *weak inside*

  9. Ho, I was in the same situation several months ago. I stopped to collect figures since July 2009, Saber Lily is my last one.
    Reason 7 and 10 for me. Now I’m thinking to sell a lot of them.

    Some figures, like Yui from K-On, are awesome for me but I made a decision and want to go on another step.

  10. Eh bien! o_O
    Tu ne m’avais pas donné tout le contexte (faut dire que je suis pas passé sur ton blog depuis longtemps).

    Dans ces conditions, il est EVIDENT que tu peux utiliser mon adresse quand et aussi longtemps que tu veux.
    ça fait deux ans que je commande des figs et j’ai jamais eu un seul probleme (je touche du bois).

    As for the reasons invoked, I, for one, am rebuked by the high price of figures, the high cost of the yen and GSC’s recent failures.

    I still have place, but it definitely is one of my limitation factors.


Categories

